Civil society urges government to stop hate campaigns and protect human rights defenders 21st March 2012

In the backdrop of the resolution on Sri Lanka being discussed in Geneva and the expected vote on the resolution this week, the Sri Lanka Government and its propaganda teams have intensified an extremely malicious hate campaign against human rights defenders who express their views on accountability and governance issues in Sri Lanka.

In particular, government media units have constantly attacked Dr. Paikiasothy Saravanamuttu, Dr. Nimalka Fernando, Ms. Sunila Abeysekera, Mr. Sunanda Deshapriya and Mr. J. C. Weliamuna calling them traitors, inciting extremist elements to attack them and as a result, making them vulnerable to physical attacks. Photo images of other press freedom activists such as Mr. Rohitha Bashana Abeygoonawardena, Mr. Sanath Balasooriya and Mr. Poddala Jayantha have also been shown in government media programmes. The present series of attacks have directly accused these human rights defenders of supporting the LTTE, of receiving money from the Tamil diaspora and of working against the interests of the country to obtain "dollars". The present attacks follow on from previous attacks by Government ministers and government media on the Free Media Movement, press freedom activists and the Bishop of Mannar.¹

We note that none of these defenders, all of whom are presently or in the recent past been resident in Sri Lanka, have been legally charged in Sri Lanka. In fact, the Minister of Media has said that these are activities against which the legal framework of the country does not allow the government to file charges." The same Minister, it is reported, has further said that those that bring the country into disrepute will not be forgiven by the nation³ implying that a system of "justice" exists outside the established legal framework.

Ironically, these hate campaigns have come at a time when UN experts on human rights defenders are calling on governments to take steps to facilitate, rather than deter, civil society's safe and unimpeded access to the UN.⁴ The President of the Human Rights Council, Ms. Laura Dupuy Lasserre, has expressed her concern about reports of State and other representatives using aggressive and/or insulting language against civil society representatives participating in the Council deliberations with a view to intimidate and harass them.⁵

We observe that such malicious attacks are carefully orchestrated by the authorities with the clear objective of deviating attention elsewhere when the human rights record of the government is being challenged nationally and internationally.

We, therefore, urge the President and Government to take immediate action to stop these attacks and ensure the safety of human rights defenders whether they engage in national level processes and/or in inter-governmental processes such as the UN Human Rights Council.

¹ See http://transcurrents.com/news-views/archives/8602 and http://transcurrents.com/news-views/archives/8602 and http://transcurrents.com/news-views/archives/9414

² See http://www.ceylontoday.lk/news-detail.php?news_id=2001&news_category_id=16

³ See Dinmina, Sinhalese newspaper at http://www.dinamina.lk/2012/01/26/ art.asp?fn=p1201261

⁴ See http://www.ohchr.org/EN/NewsEvents/Pages/DisplayNews.aspx?NewsID=11954&LangID=E

⁵ See http://www.ohchr.org/en/NewsEvents/Pages/DisplayNews.aspx?NewsID=11957&LangID=E

- 1. Bishop Kumara Illangasinghe
- 2. Rev. Fr. M. Sathivel
- 3. Rev. Fr. Sarath Iddamalgoda
- 4. Rev. Fr.V.Yogeswaran, s.j.
- 5. Rev. Fr. S. Maria Anthony, s.j.
- 6. Rev, Fr. Jeevaraj, s.j.
- 7. Rev. Fr. Antonthas Morais, s.j.
- 8. Rev. Fr. Jeyabalan Croos
- 9. Rev. Fr. Elil Rajan
- 10. Rev. Fr. Everest Dias
- 11. Rev. Fr. Bernard I. Alphonsus, Ex-Chairman, Justice and Peace Commission of Jaffna Diocese
- 12. Mr. Udaya Kalupathirana, INFORM Human Rights Documentation Centre
- 13. Mr. Shantha Pathirana, Association of Family Members of Disappeared
- 14. Mr. Joseph Stalin, Ceylon Teachers Union
- 15. Mr. S. Sivagurunathan, Movement for Defense of Democratic Rights
- 16. Mr. Somapala Kandawinna, Movement for Defense of Democratic Rights
- 17. Mr. Wasantha Dissanayake, Movement for Defense of Democratic Rights
- 18. Mr. Mahinda Hatthaka, Movement for Defense of Democratic Rights
- 19. Mr. T. M. G. Wimal Fernando, Adviser MDDR
- 20. Mr. Hans Billimoria, The Grassrooted Trust
- 21. Mr. Siva Pragasam, Workers' Solidarity Union & Citizens' Watch Network
- 22. Mr. Manjula Pathiraja, Attorney at Law, Free March
- 23. Mr. Gonneratne Wanninayake, Attorney at Law, Free March
- 24. Mr. Namal Rajapakse, Attorney at Law, Free March
- 25. Mr. Priyaranjana Jayasinghe, Attorney at Law, Free March
- 26. Mr. Ainslie Joseph, Convener of the Christian Alliance for Social Action
- 27. Ms. Nalini, Woman Human Rights Defender, Batticaloa
- 28. Ms. Shanthi A Satchithananthan, CEO, Viluthu
- 29. Mr. Chandra Kumarage, Lawyers for Democracy
- 30. Mr. Lal Wijenayake, Lawyers for Democracy
- 31. Ms. Rosanna Flamer-Caldera, EQUAL GROUND
- 32. Mr. K.S.Ratnavale, Director, Centre for Human Rights and Development
- 33. Mr. K.J. Brito Fernando, Families of the Disappeared
- 34. Mr. Philip Dissanayaka, Right to Life Human Right Center
- 35. Mr. Udaya Edirimanna, CMEV
- 36. Mr. D.M. Dissanayake, CMEV
- 37. Mr. Jagath Liyanaarachchi, CMEV
- 38. Mr. Sunil Jayasekera, Free Media Movement of Sri Lanka
- 39. Mr. Kumara Alagiyawanna Journalist/Free Media Movement
- 40. Mr. Dharmasiri Lankapeli, General Secretary, Federation of Media Employees' Trade Unions
- 41. Mr. Kusal Perera, Journalist
- 42. Ms. Melani Manel Perera, Christian Women Journalist
- 43. Ms. Seetha Ranjanee Free lance Journalist
- 44. Mr. T Jayasingam, Eastern University
- 45. Prof. Jayantha Seneviratne, University of Kelaniya
- 46. Ms. Bhavani Fonseka, Attorney at Law
- 47. Mr. Lakshan Dias, Attorney at Law
- 48. Mr. Sampath Pushpakumara, Attorney at Law

- 49. Prof. Kumar David
- 50. Dr. Philip Sethunga
- 51. Dr. Mario Gomez
- 52. Dr. Sumathy Sivamohan
- 53. Dr. Devanesan Nesiah
- 54. Mr. Lakshman Gunasekara
- 55. Ms. Sharmini Boyle
- 56. Ms. Hana Ibrahim
- 57. Mr. Shan Wijethunge
- 58. Mr. Thaha Muzammil
- 59. Mr. Freddy Gamage
- 60. Ms. Dilhara Pathirana
- 61. Ms. Deanne Uyangoda
- 62. Ms. D.I. Wickremesekera
- 63. Ms. Chulani Kodikara
- 64. Ms. Maryanne Mendis
- 65. Ms. Paba Menkie
- 66. Ms. Dulani Kulasinghe
- 67. Ms. Shreen Saroor
- 68. Ms. Priya Thangaraja
- 69. Ms. Jovita Arulanatham
- 70. Ms. Jenzila Majeed
- 71. Mr. Nilshan Fonseka
- 72. Mr. Mirak Raheem
- 73. Mr. Lanka Nesiah
- 74. Mr. Ruki Fernando
- 75. Mr. P. N. Singham
- 76. Mr. Lionel Guruge
- 77. Mr. Sanjana Hattotuwa
- 78. Mr. Suresh Kumar
- 79. Mr. Nigel V. Nugawela